What is hygge?

What is hygge?


The Danish created a certain lifestyle which has been kept invariably for 5 centuries.  Its essence lies in simplicity that brings well-being and inner joy.  The basis of such life is cozy atmosphere.

The Danish created a certain lifestyle which has been kept invariably for 5 centuries.  Its essence lies in simplicity that brings well-being and inner joy.  The basis of such life is cozy atmosphere. It is shaped not by the creative design but by simple and natural things. The harsh Nordic life with so little sunlight is abundant in living fire and cordial relationships. 

Hygge: mood, environment, daily life
Every person deserves to have their own space, a lovely nook where one can reflect, indulge in dreams and hobbies. Nevertheless, hygge does not encourage reclusion. An important part of it is played by regular reunions with relatives and friends. Parents spend a great deal of their time with children, giving up television, internet and telephone conversations in their favour. Live communication, bright emotions and positive attitude to things are of great value.

The interior is based on comfort. If you feel comfortable sleeping on a mattress, it is your individual choice and, therefore, it is right. And someone likes a high bed. Home is decorated with objects made by one’s own hands. Handmade antiques, passed on from previous generations, are highly appreciated.
As the sun sets early in Denmark, each room necessarily has big windows. Plenty of light is welcome. Live fire of classical or bio-fireplace and a large number of candles are preferable. Beeswax candles are often used at daytime, creating the atmosphere of peace and safety.

Each apartment or house is a green corner. A great number of home plants create floral arrangements on tables, windowsills and in hanging flowerpots.

Warm tones, which are predominant in the interior, are believed to chase away the cold and reduce the duration of unfavourable weather.

Food, clothes and other pleasures “according to hygge”
Clothes must be comfortable. Trainers, loafers and moccasins are considered daily footwear as a counterweight to high heels. For the majority of Danish people, going to work by car is not acceptable. A bicycle is more popular on weekdays.

The Danish enjoy treating themselves to good food. Meat dishes, a variety of sweet pastry and natural coffee are priority. Sophistication in meals is necessary in order to impress foreigners in restaurants. As for local people, they prefer simple but nutritious food. By the way, the longer it is cooked, the more it corresponds to hygge.

The simplicity in the household is determined by pottery, apple pies with cinnamon, delicious-smelling roast or stew and the abundance of artificial light. It turns out that we need so little to be happy!
Someone may think that Denmark is a third-world country. Nothing of the sort. Here citizens pay rather high taxes to the budget which are used for good infrastructure-building in local communities, better roads etc. providing high life standards. So, why are people so attracted by simplicity? Here is the philosophy of hygge which is opposed to expensive baubles, luxury cars and cruise holidays.

The Danish believe that the main thing in life is to enjoy simplicity. This is the secret of Nordic happiness. Maybe, we also should appreciate that eternal and those values which will outlast all the modern innovations in progress

Что такое хюгге?

Что такое хюгге?


Датчане создали определённый стиль жизни, который неизменно сохраняют на протяжении 5-ти веков. Его суть – в простоте, приносящей благополучие и внутреннюю радость. Основой такой жизни является уют.

Датчане создали определённый стиль жизни, который неизменно сохраняют на протяжении 5-ти веков. Его суть – в простоте, приносящей благополучие и внутреннюю радость. Основой такой жизни является уют. Но он создаётся не креативным оформлением, а простыми, натуральными вещами. Суровая нордическая жизнь, в которой так мало солнечного света, изобилует живым огнём и тёплыми взаимоотношениями.

Хюгге: настроение, обстановка, быт
У вас должно быть личное пространство, свой укромный уголок, где вы можете предаваться размышлениям, мечтам, хобби. При этом хюгге не приветствует затворничества: важным аспектом отношений являются регулярные встречи родственников, друзей. Родители много времени проводят с детьми, отказавшись в их пользу от телевизора, интернета и телефонных разговоров. Ценится живое общение, яркие эмоции, постоянный позитив.
Интерьерная обстановка основана на комфортности. Если вам удобно спать на матрасе, то это будет личным и правильным выбором. А кому-то по душе высокая кровать. В остановке находится много вещей, сделанных своими руками. Ценятся хенд-мейд-раритеты, которые перешли в наследство от предыдущих поколений.
Так как в Дании темнеет рано, в каждой комнате обязательно сделаны большие окна и приветствуется много света. Самым предпочтительным является живой огонь из классического или биокамина, множество свечей. Восковые свечи часто используют и в дневное время, формируя атмосферу покоя, защищённости.
Каждая квартира или дом представляют собой зелёный уголок. Здесь много комнатных растений, создающих целые композиции на столах, подоконниках, в подвесных кашпо.
В интерьере выбираются тёплые оттенки, которые, по поверью, способны прогнать холод и уменьшить длительность неблагоприятной погоды.
Еда, одежда и прочие удовольствия «по хюгге»
В одежде ценится удобство. Кроссовки, лоферы, мокасины являются ежедневной обувью в противовес шпилькам. Езда на работу на автомобиле для большинства датчан является моветоном: велосипед пользуется гораздо бóльшим спросом в будние дни.
Чем себя скандинавы всегда балуют, так это едой. Приоритетными являются мясные блюда, множество сладкой выпечки и большое количество натурального кофе. Изыски в еде нужны для того, чтобы удивить в ресторанах иностранцев. Местное население предпочитает простую, калорийную пищу. Причём, чем дольше она готовится, тем больше подходит под хюгге.
Простота быта определяется глиняной посудой, яблочным пирогом с корицей, вкусно пахнущим жарким или рагу и обилием искусственного света.  Оказывается, для счастья нужно так мало! 
Возможно, кое-кто подумает, что Дания – страна третьего мира? Ничего подобного. Здесь граждане платят в бюджет довольно высокие налоги, которые идут на создание хорошей инфраструктуры населённых пунктов, качественных дорог, обеспечивая высокий уровень жизни. Так почему же людей тянет к излишней простоте? В этом вся философия хюгге, которая противопоставлена дорогим безделушкам, шикарным автомобилям, круизному отдыху. 
Датчане считают, что в жизни главное  − наслаждаться простыми вещами. Такова формула нордического счастья. Может и нам стоит начать ценить то вечное, те ценности, которые переживут все современные достижения прогресса?